Week in Running: 1/6/14-1/12/14

Whoops. I just (re)started this blog and I’m already behind.

I am easing back into training for Boston. At first, I panicked at the reduced mileage but I’ve come to appreciate the time. It’s given my body a chance to recuperate, I feel much fresher, and it’s a chance for a mental reset. My first week after the marathon I only ran every other day (that was tough!) and ran not quite 16 miles. The next week back, I had one rest day and ran 40.8 miles. Then, the next week I ran every day and logged 51.8 miles.

Last week, I had a minor setback as I came down with some kind of cold. I ended up only missing one day of running but it meant a few extra easy days.

Here was last week’s training:

Monday: Coach said to run 0-4 and if I had a fever at all to not run. This was the only day I took off. I felt like I was on the mend but I felt so drained. Decided my body probably needed the rest.

Tuesday: 8 easy miles; felt surprisingly good after being sick.

Wednesday: 10 miles easy with 6x30s strides; it felt really nice to get out there and run a little bit longer.

Thursday: 3 miles with 4x30s strides, 6xhill blasts and 3 miles cool down; it has taken me awhile to get into the groove with hill blasts. I struggled to find the right hill initially, one that was short enough and steep enough. Hill blasts are 10 seconds at 100% up a short steep hill. As someone who is more long distance minded, I’m not accustomed to running at 100% ever. It’s deeply ingrained for me to conserve! So, it’s actually been kind of fun to do these. However, I had 10 instead of 6 this week and that was significantly harder!

Friday: 8 miles easy

Saturday: 15 miles with 11.2 on the Percy Warner 11.2 (infamous for its crazy hard hills); I did the 11.2 the week before and had a bad experience. I felt okay during the run but at the end felt truly awful. Now I realize I was getting sicker that day and the sickness really took hold of me that evening. This week was much better. I ran the first 4 miles up and down Belle Meade Blvd before doing the 11.2. The hills are brutal and sometimes relentless, but I finished feeling really strong which was a nice contrast to the week before.

Sunday: 4 miles very easy

Total Mileage for the Week: 53.1

Next week maybe I’ll try to get my training up before it’s almost time to document the next week’s training!

Leave a comment